Stone Bear Publishing.

HOME      |      REVIEWS    |   CONTACT US

REVIEWS

Nightmare in the Woods - Stone Bear Publishing

Nightmare
In The Woods

Buy on Amazon
Paperback and Kindle

William A. Garcia
***** Some tense moments during the Summer of Sasquatch

November 23, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
I’ve stated before that I love stories where a person or family starts to realize that their home and space starts to be invaded by Bigfoot, and this book is one of the better examples of how living with this increasing terror can effect members of a family.
Told during a time when the author was a boy the first thing evident is how much love the family had for each other and how they stuck together during this crisis. The childhood fear the author had comes across clearly, from being afraid for his father’s safety to being afraid if Bigfoot would follow them home in retribution for invading its newly claimed territory. It all is very clear, as was the sadness and disappointment that the author’s beloved summer vacation was being stolen away from the creature.

There were many instances of tense encounters with fleeting glimpses, finding of footprints, cries in the night and uncomfortably close encounters with this malevolent beast. There is a very believable sense of Fear in this book, and I felt for the author as he recollected how even his love and admiration for his father and the protector he was was diminished by his worry and fear for his father’s safety. All a boy’s fears are laid bare for the reader to see. It couldn’t have been easy to recount these horrors, even all these years later.
A very enjoyable read with real human emotion.

Ed
***** The Sasquatch creatures living around our farm. excellent read

April 19, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
Very well written long term encounters with these creatures on the family farm. These creatures are very intelligent,raiders of gardens, animal feed thief's, window peeker's , A look into a family's terror existence within there own house.

Vince Marshall
**** Good Story

December 28, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I do not know if this story is true or not. There is however, a palpable feeling of anxiety from the author in recounting his experiences. This would be consistent with actually being exposed to an unknown creature. It is interesting that he tells of encounters over the years in different locations. If this is true, either he is unlucky or they are drawn to him for some unknown reason. This is a good story.

Tim Doxrude
**** good book! but like most books lately

July 31, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
good book! but like most books lately... to short! they have been like short stories, i thought this would be different but the number of words on a page was like an encyclopedia brown book! but back to the story, i really believe this family went through something, i really liked the story.

Bill Dluzniewski
***** This is great easy reading book

January 31, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is great easy reading book. It ads a giant log on to the fire of the Big Foot mystery

Linda Rognlien
***** Great Book of Big Foot

May 25, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book wasn't very long But, my Husband like to read about Big Foot.

Amazon Customer
***** This is awesome. A must for every Big Footer

May 11, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is awesome. A must for every Big Footer. Very entertaining and spell binding. Read with an open mind. I would recommend it. I couldn't put it down until I finished reading it.

dinky
***** Big was a very good read for sure

February 17, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Bigfoot? Never seen one..Possible,anything is possible..Big was a very good read for sure..Believable!!!

Edon
***** The Sasquatch creatures living around our farm. excellent read

April 19, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
Very well written long term encounters with these creatures on the family farm. These creatures are very intelligent,raiders of gardens, animal feed thief's, window peeker's , A look into a family's terror existence within there own house.

Vince Marshall
**** Good Story

December 28, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I do not know if this story is true or not. There is however, a palpable feeling of anxiety from the author in recounting his experiences. This would be consistent with actually being exposed to an unknown creature. It is interesting that he tells of encounters over the years in different locations. If this is true, either he is unlucky or they are drawn to him for some unknown reason. This is a good story.

Jennie Lambert
***** Five Stars

January 24, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This was a gift.

David Eilenberger
***** Loved it Thanks -do

February 23, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
the author found my childhood fears perfectly, the anticipation and lots of kid humor, as a adult we see things differently, but the description of feelings and fear hit the mark... Loved it
Thanks -do another

b1t2c3k4
***** Five Stars

July 14, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
very interesting and chilling

Mark McKenzie
***** Great personal story

March 14, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Very nice story of a childhood that was affected by a unusual period of time. The Native American connection is also something that is frequently seen in these types of experiences.

Kindle Customer Charles Martin
***** Your world, my world, our world.

September 3, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I would recommend this book to skeptics, and non skeptics. A five star plus. Why? Mr. Verge relates to everyone, somewhere, someplace. Be that in the past, or the present. Read the book. You will be glad you did.

Amazon Customer
**** Good Bigfoot read!

March 3, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
Good story. I believe this families encounter. Spooky and compelling

Jill Frye
***** The author is obviously an educated man whom uses proper ...

March 18, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
The author is obviously an educated man whom uses proper punctuation, capitalization, & sentence structure. Consequently, this true book is enjoyable reading. I agree with all of the other reviews about the intensity of this book. I just wish that it wasn't so short because when I'm reading something so spellbinding, I want it to go on forever. Even my husband, the "non-believer," found it enjoyable reading! It's obvious that this 8-year old child suffered for years with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), which lasted into his adult years. How unfortunate that the family kept their experiences with Sasquatch a secret. If they had mentioned it to the neighborhood, perhaps they could have seeked solace in numbers since the area was also experiencing the same things. The author needs to keep reading of others' experiences on BFRO to see patterns of behaviors of these creatures. Some folks embrace their experiences. Others live a life of constant fear. If he hasn't done so, he should read books by Kewaunee Lapseritis to help him understand his experiences. Perhaps the author IS being contacted by the Sasquatches for a special purpose.

Amazon Customer
***** Fantastic story and extremely well written especially for his first ...

February 8, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
Fantastic story and extremely well written especially for his first book. Believe ! How can you not ? After you read this great story believers and fellow bigfoot encounters' will be saying : "yeah that's right " ! Non-believers , some will believe right away , others will find themselves questioning every noise and bump in the night . Can't put it down until it's finished ! It is suspenseful yet sprinkled with humor to soften the terror felt during this boys unforgettable summer of 1976 . Buy it , read it , share it !
Fred Schofer , Living historian , Lafayette ,N.J.

Amazon Customer
***** A good read.

April 27, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I enjoyed this book. It was well written and an easy read that kept my attention to the finish. :)

Amazon Customer
***** Book received

March 25, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
Thank you.it looks great in my collection.

Iris Brown
***** Excellent read....

May 1, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This bigfoot story rings true and is written in excellent prose. When you get to the end - the authors page - many may gasp, like I did, when they realize who the author is....specifically his company. I wish more professional men and women would come forward with their bigfoot encounters, just like this man did. You will enjoy it and it's a must have for your bigfoot library collection.

Tish
***** Great Story!

February 1, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I love stories like this where the writer puts the reader in the story. From a young boys childhood encounter with BigFoot that then happened again, as a man with his family camping. The way the story is told brought back memories from my own childhood during the seventies. This is not a scary story, just one told from someone who had encountered the BigFoot as a child and then, again as an adult. A really nice afternoon read which will leave you a believer.

Amazon Customer
**** Nightmare In The Woods

February 20, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I liked the realistic and truth to the story. This family had encounters and wasn't out for fame or fortune but just to have there story told. If you believe or not truth should be told and not held back.

D. Grimes
***** Great read

May 5, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I started reading this book and couldn't put it down. Very interesting subject and I liked the way it was written.

Amazon Customer
***** Excellent read!

January 15, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
If you like to read about Bigfoot encounters then you will like this book! The author made you feel like you were right there with him. His encounters with Bigfoot were scary, and I can only imagine how terrified he must have been as a young boy to have had Bigfoot in his own backyard! I sincerely admire Mr. Verge for coming forward with his story. If he has more encounters with Bigfoot I hope he writes another book!

Alexandra
***** Terrific Story

February 7, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed this story. Sounds like a great loving family caught up in BF back in the '70s when not much was available like today.

coolbreeze
***** I could not put this down and finished it in ...

July 17, 2017
Format: Paperback
I could not put this down and finished it in one sitting. A true life terror that shaped a young boy's life during the summer of 1976 and how this frightening experience followed him into his manhood. This will give you pause about going Bigfoot hunting if you are so inclined. The writing style flows and is totally on point. Reminds me a bit of how well Steven King explores the terrors of children. Mr Verge captures his childhood terrifying experience in a vivid and forthright style.
The sightings are increasing again and I was shocked to learn that I live so close to a major Bigfoot sighting area in northeastern PA. When I go out at night I find myself looking for those eyes peeping out of the woods.

Chasity Kennedy
***** Well written book

April 14, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a great book from beginning to end. Although most of the story takes place when the author is a child, it is told through the first person by the author as an adult who vividly re alls the incidents. The author clearly has a fear of sasquatch because of these shocking experiences, but his story is one of adventure when viewed by others who can read about these events in this book.

B. D. Bosmann
***** "Nightmare In The woods" is very well written in a ...

July 18, 2017
Format: Paperback
"Nightmare In The woods" is very well written in a way that puts you right in the middle of the BIg Foot investigation. This true story is told from an 8 year old's eyes and point of view. Haunting Memories from the 70's that till this day will keep A.H. Verge up at night.

Fred H. Fox
***** Great book. Great story

March 8, 2017
Format: Paperback
Great book. Great story. A.H Verge is a fantastic story teller. A must read. Could not put it down.

DANA BREE    (646) 337-4938 -  email: stonebearpub@gmail.com